Education in Burgh le Marsh: Schools and College
The building of Burgh School commenced in 1979 with the opening of the school in May 1980 but not completed until 1981.
Photo by Lincolnshire Standard Group
Education has played an important role in Burgh le Marsh judging by the variety schools that were established. There was the Dames school in the Market Place, a Wesleyan school in Orby Road, and St. Paul's College. Children from out lying areas received instruction from the college students at the Middlemarsh Mission Chapel which is now a private residence. from Victorian times up till 1980 children were educated in the building which is now the Recreation Centre.
The current school is on Wainfleet Road.
St. Paul's College
A stone tablet on the edge of St. Paul's bungalow estate stands as a memorial to St. Paul's college established in 1866 and a middle class school. In 1878 it opened as a mission house and feeder to St. Augustine's, Canterbury before becoming a theological college. Following their training priests were sent all over the world to serve as missionaries. The college closed in 1936 but was taken over during the war and occupied by troops. Later it became a boarding school for girls and in the latter part of the 1950's it changed to a boys school. However, it was demolished in 1969. The altar and inscription boards from the college were taken to Burgh le Marsh Parish Church. The stalls were transported to Sheffield Cathedral.